My first post on hashnode

My first post on hashnode

(and first blog entry ever)

·

2 min read

Who am I?

Hello everybody! My name is Agustín, and I'm from Argentina 🌞. I have a bachelor degree in biotechnology 🧬, and I'm about to finish my PhD. I work with RNA and bored stuff, but this bored stuff needs computers to be analyzed. Because someone had to do it, I started to get a little guidance and train myself in bioinformatics without having prior programming knowledge 💻.

The fun thing of this situation is... I found out that I enjoy analyzing data in the computer over than the rest of the lab work. I slowly started to familiarize with Linux 🐧(Ubuntu is my friend) and the terminal, I found some online (and free) resources that helped me a lot (mainly with R) and currently I'm learning python 🐍 and SQL 📚.

Why am I writting this?

Well, I've been advised to do it... by people I don't know 😂. Almost every online data science resource I found, in certain point advise you to start blogging. At first I ignored that advice, until I started to read some stories about people that got their job because of their blogs, so i thought: "hey, you're about to finish your PhD, you don't want to keep working as a researcher because you like computers, why don't you give it a try just for fun? It may even surprise you the feedback you could get" (besides, it's an excelent excuse to practice my English 📝).

To sum up

I don't know if I'm going to continue working as a biotechnologist, if I'll ever make money with this informatic knowledge (although I'd love to), if I'll get any feedback at all from this blog, but I think I'll have fun on the way. I'll try to update this with my daily work, and I'll be happy if you let me know if you find something wrong with my posts (from English to techinal issues). I'm still learning 🤓.